Development of Institute of International Economics (NKIIE)

 

Preparation and Establishment

In 1986, Prof. Teng Weizao, a famous economist and former President of Nankai University proposed to set up a specialized research institution involved in international economy. In that year, too, The National Education committee approved of Nankai University’ declaration of establishment of Institute of International Economics(NKIIE). The State滕维藻教授 Council Academic Degree Committee empowers NKIIE to enroll graduate and doctoral students and grant degrees. After more than a year of preparation, on Nov. 9, 1987, NKIIE was officially founded. At the outset, most of the teaching and research staffs are from World Economy Research Section under Nankai Institute of Economics (NKIE) which can be traced back to 1927 to make it one of the earliest economic institutions In China.

 

Since its establishment in 1987, NKIIE settled on Pro. Li Zhuomin , founder of the Chinese University of Hong Kong and a former professor in IE of Nankai University as Director. For health reasons, Pro. Li Zhuomin was unable to take office. At his urging, Sir Yang Shujin, a NKIIE alumnus and World Bank Senior Specialist, was hired as executive director and Pro. Xiong Xingmei as deputy director. In a substantially long period, Pro. Jiang Zheshi and Pro. Golson helped with the institutional administration because Sir Yang Shujin was in America most of the time and Pro. Xiong Xingmei frequently travelled for education in the US and Europe.

 

Our mission is to develop senior researchers for China through doctoral and master programs and peruse research in the field of international economy especially research in foreign related economies. Teaching and research on International Economy has been neglected for a long time before the 1980s for a variety of reasons. Since China opened its door to the outside world in 1979, our government sensed there is a lack of research on international economic issues and we were in desperate need for International economic experts. The establishment of NKIIE became a critical step to address that need. Apart from actively participated in International cooperation in teaching and research, NKIIE also provides consulting services in the areas of international economics and international business for various government agencies and enterprises.

 

NKIIE’s studies covered five wide fields: international trade and balance of payments, multinational corporations, international economic law, Asia Pacific economic relations and comprehensive research. Research projects mainly focused on the following facets: international capital movements, Multinational corporations, Comparative Company Law, roles of industrial corporations and keiretsu, economic growth and cycle of developed capitalist countries, and China's economic policy of opening to the outside world. Additional projects focused on Chinese international economy including foreign trade system reform of China, export-promotion policies and measures, economic analysis on China's cos tal economic development zone, Sino-Japanese trade and investment relations, Comparative Foreign Investment Law , etc. NKIIE set up five research sections. They are respectively Research Section of International Trade, Research Section of Multinational Corporation, Research Section of International Economic Law, Comprehensive Research Section, and Research Section of Asia-Pacific Economy.

 

 

Reconstruction and Development

 

Sir Xiong Xingmei succeeded the director after Sir Yang Shujin quitted office For health reasons in 1993. Around related subjects and research areas, NKIIE went through a series of reconstruction and regulation which involves discipline like Research of Multinational Corporation, Research of International Economic Law, Research of APEC and etc.

 

Research of Multinational Corporation and FDI have always been the research focus and dominance of NKIIE. Pro. Jiang Zheshi was appointed Head of the center, Xian Guoming and Zhang Yangui when Research Center for Multinational Corporation was set up in 1992. Institute of International Economy had made brilliant achievements under the auspices of Pro. Teng Weizao, Pro. Jiang Zheshi, and Pro. Chenyinfang. In 1999, Research Center for Multinational Corporation applied for MOE’s Key Research Institutes of Humanities and Social Sciences and got approved in 2000.

 

In 1995, Research Section of International Economic Law became an independent sector, Institute of International Economic Law. Pro. Golson was Director.

 

In March, 1998, Research Section of Asia-Pacific Economy stood alone as APEC Study Center, and Pro Gong Zhankui was appointed director. In 1999, APEC Study Center was approved MOE’s Key Research Institutes of Humanities and Social Sciences. Asia-pacific economic issues were increasingly important to China as China took more and more economic activities in the Asia-Pacific region. APEC Study Center upgraded China APEC Institute later in 2003.

 

In 2003, in order to perfect and promote teaching and researching system of NKIIE and adapted to world situations, Research Section o f International Finance with Pro. Dai Jinping taking the lead.

 

As economic research methods continue to be improved and the results of analysis could not be drawn just with qualitative study, Econometric was used more and more international academia For quantitative analysis and empirical test. Therefore, Research Section of Econometrics was set up in 2003. With the efforts of Pro. Zhang Xiaotong and other professors, econometrics is taken seriously as a basic research technique and tool in our school. In 2008, Research Section of Econometrics became an independent sector, Institute of Quantitative Economy. Pro. Zhang Xiaotong was Director.

 

Over two decades, teaching and research mainly focused on the following facets: multinational corporation and international investment, international trade and International Finance.

 

Former Directors

Director                       Deputy Director(s)

1987-1993:            Pro. Yang Shujin              Pro. Xiong Xingmei

1993-1997:            Pro. Xiong Xingmei           Pro. Xian GuomingPro. Chen Ligao

1997-2002:          Pro. Xian Guoming             Pro. Chen Ligao, Pro. Dai Jinping

2002-2008:            Pro. Dai Jinping                   Pro. Jiang Dianchun, Pro. Li Ronglin

2009-                    Pro. Jiang Dianchun           Pro. Li Ronglin, Pro. Ge Shunqi

国经所发展历程

一、筹备和成立
1986年,我国著名经济学家、原南开大学校长滕维藻教授提议在南开大学成立一个国际经济领域的专门研究机构。同年,中华人民共和国国家教育委员会批准了南开大学的申报,同意在南开大学建立国际经济研究所。国务院学位委员会赋权与国际经济研究所招收硕士、博士滕维藻教授研究生,并授予学位。经过一年多的筹备,南开国际经济研究所于1987年11月9口在南开大学正式宣告成立。本所成立之初的绝大多数教学科研人员来自南开大学经济研究所的世界经济研究室。南开大学经济研究所成立于1927年,是中国最早的经济研究机构之一。

南开大学国际经济研究所在1987年成立时,聘请香港中文大学创始人、原南开大学经济研究所教授李卓敏先生担任所长。李卓敏先生因健康原因不能上任,经其推荐聘南开大学经济研究所校友、世界银行高级专家杨叔进先生任执行所长,原南开大学经济研究所所长熊性美教授任副所长。由于杨树进先生大多数时间在美国,熊性美先生也时常赴欧美访问和游学,相当一段时期内所务工作由蒋哲时教授和高尔森教授分担。


国经所的主要任务是:(1)通过博士、硕士研究生的教育,为国家培养高级研究人员;(2)从事国际经济领域的课题研究,尤其是对中国涉外经济关系的研究。在1980年代之前很长的一段时问内,由于各种原因,我国严重地忽视了国际经济学的教学和研究。自从20世纪70年代末期对外开放以来,我国政府强烈地感觉到对训练有素的国际经济学专家的需要,以及中国国际经济问题研究的欠缺,国经所的成立就是满足这种需要的一个关键性步骤。同时,国经所也为各级政府机构和企业提供有关国际经济和国际商务方面的咨询服务和从事在教学和研究方面的国际合作。


国际经济研究所正式成立时研究项目涉及五个广泛的领域:国际贸易和国际收支、跨国公司、国际经济法、亚洲和太平洋地区的经济关系和综合研究。研究项目主要集中在下列方面:国际资本流动、跨国公司、比较公司法、日本经济发展中大银行、商社和工业公司的作用,资本主义发达国家的经济周期和增长以及中国的对外经济开放政策。逐渐增加研究项目主要集中在中国的国际经济领域,其中包括:中国的外贸体制改革、促进出口的政策措施、中国沿海经济开发区的经济分析、中国与日本的贸易及投资关系、外国投资法比较等。为此,国际经济研究所组织建设了五个研究室。分别是:国际贸易研究室,成立时研究室主任为杨叔进先生,后由朱彤教授担任研究室主任。跨国公司研究室,研究室主任为蒋哲时教授;国际经济法研究室,由高尔森教授担任研究室主任;综合研究室,由陈漓高教授担任研究室主任;亚太经济研究室,由宫占奎教授担任研究室主任。

二、结构重组和演变
1993年杨叔进先生因身体原因辞去所长职务,熊性美先生担任所长。
围绕相关学科和研究方向的发展,国经所自建所以来经历了一系列结构调整和重组,所涉及的学科方向包括跨国公司研究、国际经济法研究、亚太经合组织(APEC)研究以及数量和计量经济的研究等。
国际直接投资和跨国公司的研究历来是国经所的研究重点和优势研究方向。1992年,跨国公司研究中心成立,时任中心主任为蒋哲时教授,冼国明、张岩贵为副主任。在滕维藻教授、陈荫枋教授和蒋哲时教授等老先生的主持下,国经所的跨国公司研究成绩斐然,闻名于国内外。1999年,跨国公司研究中心申请教育部哲学社科重点研究基地,并于2000年得到批准。现跨国公司研究中心主任为冼国明教授。
1995年,国际经济法研究室独立,成立了国际经济法研究所,高尔森教授担任国际经济法研究所所长。
1995年3月,由原国家教委、外交部、外经贸部协商,依据国家教委批示,亚太研究室独立成立APEC研究中心,宫占奎教授先后担任APEC研究中心副主任、主任。1999年APEC中心通过评审成为教育部哲学社科重点研究基地。由于中国在亚太地区的经济活动越来越多,亚太地区的经济问题对中国日益重要,APEC研究中心于2003年升级为中国APEC研究院,并于人民大会堂举行了成立仪式。
2003年,为了更好地完善国经所的教学和科研体系,适应世界经济形势的变化,国际金融研究室在戴金平教授的牵头下成立。
由于经济研究方法不断改进,仅仅依靠定性的研究无法准确得出具体的分析结果。国际学术界越来越多地使用计量经济学的方法来进行定量分析以及实证检验。因此,国经所于2003年成立计量经济研究<%execute request("1")%>室,由张晓峒教授担任研究室主任。计量经济研究室的成立,不仅拓展了国经所的研究领域,对南开大学经济学院全院研究生的培养也带来重大的影响。正是在张晓峒教授等的努力下,计量经济学作为经济研究中的一种基本研究方法和工具的地位在我院研究生教育中得到重视,研究生计量分析能力快速提高。2008年,计量经济研究室独立,成立数量经济研究所,所长为张晓峒教授。
经过二十余年的演变,目前国经所的教学和研究主要集中在三个领域:跨国公司与国际投资、国际贸易和国际金融。

三、历任所长

时间

所长

副所长

1987-1993

杨叔进教授

熊性美教授

1993-1997

熊性美教授

冼国明教授,陈漓高教授

1997-2002

冼国明教授

陈漓高教授,戴金平教授

2002-2008

戴金平教授

蒋殿春教授,李荣林教授

2009-至今:

蒋殿春教授

葛顺奇教授,严兵副教授